Selling Price Calculator
Enter the total NET price including any optional services and freight below then click on the “Calculate” button.
The selling price calculator is intended to help you determine a competitive margin for custom quoted and high-value items typically not listed in the catalog.
While Stouse makes every effort to assist you in this process, we can only give you suggestions for retail pricing. High-value estimates are often very competitive. Most businesses in the printing industry gradually reduce the margin percentage as the value of the order increases in an effort to win the order.
What is the difference between margin and markup?
Margin is sales minus the cost of goods sold. The percentage is found by dividing the margin by sales or (sales-COGS)/sales. For example, if you sell a decal for $100 and the cost is $70, your gross margin is $30 or 30%, calculated as ($100-70)/$100=30%.
Markup is the amount by which the cost of a product is increased in order to derive the selling price. The percentage is found by dividing the markup by the cost or (sales-COGS)/COGS. Using the same example as above, if you sell a decal for $100 and the cost is $70, your markup is also $30. However, the percentage markup is 42.86%, calculated as: ($100-$70)/$70=42.86%.
A mistake in the use of these terms can lead to setting a price too high or low, resulting in lost sales or lost profits, respectively. Knowing the margin you want to achieve will allow you to mark up the cost appropriately.